Skip to main content
Bible Q

Who were the twelve patriarchs?

The word “patriarch” means a progenitor (an originator of a line of descent). The 12 Patriarchs are the 12 sons of Jacob: Genesis 35:22-26 Now the sons of Jacob were twelve.  (23)  The sons of Leah: Reuben (Jacob’s firstborn), Simeon, Levi, Judah, Issachar, and Zebulun.  (24)  The sons of Rachel: Joseph and Benjamin.  (25)  The […]

Why is the tribe of Dan missing in Revelation 7?

Revelation 7 lists twelve tribes from each of which came 12,000 people. However, they are not identical to the usual twelve tribes (the sons of Jacob) listed in the Old Testament. In the Revelation list, the tribe of Dan is omitted, and to make up the numbers, Manasseh is included along with Joseph. This has […]

Which ten tribes were ruled by Jeroboam?

The problem is that in 1 Kings 11, Jeroboam is told he will receive 10 tribes, with 2 remaining with Rehoboam.  But the territory of the tribe of Simeon was entirely within the tribe of Judah, so how did Jeroboam get 10 ‘pieces’ if Judah, Benjamin and Simeon remained with Rehoboam? Well, one of the most […]