There are many references to saints in the Scriptures.  The faithful in Israel were called saints (Psalm 148:14), and the believers in the New Testament are frequently referred to as saints.    Distinguishing features of saints as mentioned in Scripture:

  • Excellent ones in whom God delights (Psalm 16:3)
  • Those sanctified in Jesus Christ (1 Corinthians 1:2)
  • Those faithful in Jesus Christ (Ephesians 1:1)
  • Members of the household of God,  built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, Christ Jesus himself being the cornerstone (Ephesians 2:19-21)
  • Those who imitate God and follow the example of love Jesus showed.  Those who shun immorality, covetousness, impurity, foolish talk & crude jokes.  (Ephesians 5:1-5)
  • Those delivered from the domain of darkness and transferred to the kingdom of God’s beloved Son, in whom is redemption, the forgiveness of sins. (Colossians 1: 11-14)

Those who belong to the communion of the saints, are those who believe the gospel and faithfully live their life serving God.

Tagged with →  
Share →

2 Responses to Who belongs to the communion of saints?

  1. jade says:

    how can our sins be forgiven

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *