Skip to main content
Bible Q

What are the titles given to the five divisions in the book of Psalms?

The Psalms are divided into five sections:

Book I Psalms 1-41
Book II Psalms 42-72
Book III Psalms 73-89
Book IV Psalms 90-106
Book V Psalms 107-150

The Psalms appear to have been organized in this way when they were compiled into their final form, probably after the exile.

Each pair of books is separated by a doxology — a short prayer of praise. See Psalm 41:13; 72:18-19; 89:52; 106:48.

The five divisions do not have specific names, but are often thought to be intended to mirror the five books of the Torah (Genesis-Deuteronomy).

No Comments yet!