Nebuchadnezzar was king of Babylon from 605BC to 562BC. We know of two of his children: a son, Amel Marduk (known as Evil-Merodach in 2 Kings 25:27), and a daughter Nitocris.

Amel-Marduk succeeded Nebuchadnezzar as king. According to Berossus (Jos Ap 1.20), Amel-Marduk was killed in a coup. His brother-in-law, Neriglissar (probably the same as Nergal-Sharezer mentioned in Jeremiah 39:3,13) succeeded him. When Neriglissar died, his son Labashi-Marduk became king although still a child, but was assassinated after only 9 months.

Finally, Nabonidus, the son of a priestess, became king in 556 B.C. and married Nitocris (probably the queen in Daniel 5:10). Their eldest son Belshazzar was made regent and co-ruler with him. In about 550 B.C., Nabonidus moved to Arabia leaving Babylon in the hands of¬†Belshazzar. He didn’t return for 10 years, and then only to be captured by the Persians.

Thus was fulfilled Jeremiah’s prophecy (Jer 27:7) that “all nations would serve him [Nebuchadnezzar], his son [Evil-Merodach] and his grandson [Belshazzar] until the time for his land comes.” In the process, two sons-in-law (Neriglissar and Nabonidus) and another grandson (Labashi-Marduk) also reigned.

Kings of Babylon
Nabopolassar 626–605
Nebuchadnezzar 605–561
Evil-Merodach 561–560
Neriglissar 560–556
Labashi-Marduk 556
Nabonidus 556–539
Belshazzar 553–539
Tagged with →  
Share →